2019 06 15 CAT 049 Crop

Community Learning and Development for Maths Week Scotland

Posted by Education Scotland

Across Scotland, Community Learning and Development (CLD) works to empower people of all ages to work individually or collectively to make positive changes in their lives and communities through learning, personal development and active citizenship. Community Learning and Development uses a range of formal and informal methods of learning and social development with individuals and groups in their communities. Programmes and activities are developed with communities and participants.

CLD activities planned for Maths Week Scotland include:

  • Parental engagement workshops and adult learning events, including family learning
  • Youth work embedding maths as fun activities
  • Community engagement
  • Themed events promoting disadvantaged or under-represented groups, such as encouraging girls into maths

So what CLD events are happening near you this Maths Week Scotland?

You can contact your regional Education Scotland CLD officers for more information and link with your local region to get involved.

  1. The Northern Alliance: Nicola Sykes Nicola.sykes@educationscotland.gov.scot
  2. The Tayside Collaborative: Susan Epsworth Susan.epsworth@educationscotland.gov.scot
  3. The West Partnership: John Galt John.galt@educationscotland.gov.scot and Laura McIntosh Laura.mcintosh@educationscotland.gov.scot
  4. South West Collaborative: Nicola Sykes Nicola.sykes@educationscotland.gov.scot and Dehra Macdonald Dehra.macdonald@educationscotland.gov.scot
  5. South East Collaborative: Chris Woodness Chris.woodness@educationscotland.gov.scot and Vince Moore Vince.moore@educationscotland.gov.scot
  6. Forth Valley & West Lothian Collaborative: Lindsay MacDonald Lindsay.macdonald@educationscotland.gov.scot and Mandy Watts Mandy.watts@educationscotland.gov.scot

Join in the conversation at @edscotcld on twitter #mathsweekscot

Keep up-to-date with the Education Scotland CLD team news and sign-up to receive the CLD E-Bulletin

Latest News

Mathsinside logo 600

Maths Inside Winners

On Saturday 30 October the Maths Inside Award Ceremony celebrated all participants and announced the winners of this years competition. Take a peek at the winning entries and get inspired for next years competition!

View details

Upcoming Events

Slee Tram in Spring Sun 2009 24th Sep-22nd Dec

Summerlee Museum Family Maths Trail

Summerlee Museum of Industrial Life, Coatbridge 10.00am-4.00pm Free

Follow the trail around the museum to find maths in places you might not expect. Each completed trail wins a prize!

View details